Watch Live: Senate Impeachment Trial, Day 9

U.S. Capitol at Dusk September 2013. Photo by Martin Falbisoner.

Wednesday, January 29, 2020 is Day 9 of President Impeached’s Senate Trial.

According to the New York Times, now that oral presentations are complete the McConnell impeachment rules will now move into the questioning phase, which is set to last no more than 16 hours.

Senators get to ask questions, in writing.

After each side has presented its case, the trial rules give senators up to 16 hours to ask questions. But unlike during a normal Senate session, they are not allowed to speak. They must submit their questions in writing to Chief Justice Roberts, who is presiding over the trial. Under the rules of the Senate, the chief justice will decide which questions to ask, directing them to the managers or to the White House legal team.

That does not mean there will not be any grandstanding. When the chief justice reads a question aloud, he will indicate which senator submitted it. (Senator Susan Collins, Republican of Maine, frequently boasts that during Mr. Clinton’s impeachment trial, she and Senator Russ Feingold, Democrat of Wisconsin, were the only two senators to submit a bipartisan question.)

It is not clear whether the senators will use all 16 hours. If they do, it would probably occur by the middle of next week, though when they start would depend on how long the House managers and White House lawyers have chosen to talk.

New York Times

For full recap of Day 8, see C-SPAN:

Senate Impeachment Trial, Day 8, Part 1: The Senate impeachment trial of President Trump concluded with arguments from the president’s defense team.

Senate Impeachment Trial, Day 8, Part 2: White House Counsel Pat Cippillone gave the summation of President Trump’s defense in the Senate Impeachment Trial.

Republican highlights:

Watch Live: Day 9

About the opinions in this article…

Any opinions expressed in this article are the opinions of the author and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of this website or of the other authors/contributors who write for it.